You’re my density!

Determinism in a Nutshell

What a steaming load of crap.

How exactly do we distinguish what’s “meant to be” from what is currently happening? For example, if life totally sucks right now, then who’s to say that life wasn’t meant to suck? Maybe the default condition for life is ultimate suckage. The philosophy expressed in this meme is utterly meaningless in that virtuatlly anything that happens can be written off as fate, and we can all imagine that we have no hand in deciding our futures. Only if we surrender to utter determinism does this philosophy make any sense at all. And if we do that, what of free will?

Who knows? Maybe free will doesn’t exist. Maybe everything really is meant to be, and we have no choice at all in the matter. But that’s depressing so I choose not to believe it. I believe that we ultimately have control of our own respective destinies. I think the sentiment expressed in this meme is the philosophical equivalent of saying “It doesn’t matter what I do, so I can do whatever I want! Fate’s got my back!” It does matter, and no you can’t. There’s no such thing as fate, so choose your actions carefully.

One thought on “You’re my density!

Leave a Reply

